Convert any Text to Binary using Python

Convert any Text to Binary using Python

ยท

1 min read

Introduction

In this tutorial, I will show you how to convert text to binary or binary to text. I will also show you how it works. Let's Start!

String To Binary

def str_to_binary(text):
    binary = ""
    for char in text:
        binary += format(ord(char), '08b')
    return binary

Describing code:

  • The function will take a plain text or sentence

  • Then loop over each character to convert to binary and add the binary code of every character to the binary variable

The format() method returns a formatted representation of the given value controlled by the format specifier. read more : format() in python

  • format(value, format-specifier) | in this case, this function takes per character's Unicode as value, and '08b' means 8-bit binary format specifier

  • ord() converts any character to its ASCII Unicode.

Conclusion

Sorry for any mistakes as it is my first blog. Thanks a lot. I hope you will find this helpful. I will try more to improve my content. See you in the future!๐Ÿ˜€

Github profile : RF Fahad Islam

ย